AardvarkBusiness.net - Business Search Engine AardvarkBusiness.net - Business Search Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Fire safety precautions?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    AardvarkBusiness.net Forum Index -> Law & Insurance Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Swordiii
Temp

4 ants

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 12:53 pm    Post subject: Fire safety precautions? Reply with quote

Hi guys

I’m fairly new to business management, having until recently operated out of my flat! Anyway, the office I’ve moved to is settling nicely, and the employees I have seem to be getting on well, but I’m a little worried about fire safety issues as the office is quite crowded and I worry if it’s slightly hazardous. Are there any official legal documents that state what I need to ensure for the safety of my employees anywhere?
trev
President
President

4037 ants

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Usually depends how many employees you've got, but up to 5 and often you don't need to provide anything like as much stuff.

The people who usually regulate this kind of thing are the HSE although you might also be able to get hold of the Fire Safety Officer who can give you some tips on what you need and even training for your employees. Best to contact the regional fire dept. HQ (number in the phone book).

Overall I would say just make sure that everyone knows where the fire escapes are, where the extinguishers are, make sure they're checked annually and that it's everyones responsibility to make sure that there are clear routes to all escapes - that's the key really.