AardvarkBusiness.net - Business Search Engine AardvarkBusiness.net - Business Search Engine



 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

     

Is it possible to put my domain online?

 
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    AardvarkBusiness.net Forum Index -> Domains & Hosting Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Frederico Rogeiro
Secretary
Secretary


Joined: 22 Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Portugal
3 ants

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:38 am    Post subject: Is it possible to put my domain online? Reply with quote

I have a domain. He was hosted and put online.
Now, I have a new host and I want to change the domain there (just the name, no files).
I have the login data of the domain and the new host, but not from the old host.

Is it possible to put my domain online in the new host?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dave McM
Executive PA
Executive PA


Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 52
Location: Usually SE Asia
59 ants

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is (or should be) a pretty straightforward process:

1. Find out from your new hosting company what their nameservers are - they will probably look something like ns1.[hosting company domain] and ns2.[hosting company domain]. (There will be at least two nameservers.)

2. Ask the company your domain name is registered at (the domain registrar) to point your domain name at the new company's nameservers instead of the old company's nameservers - or, if you have a control panel for your domain name, you should be able to change the setting yourself.

As I say, it should be a relatively straightforward process. However, if your old hosting company is also the domain registrar, you might possibly find that they'll charge you for making the change. (We got stung by Easyspace for some domain transfer-related process back in the early 2000s.)

Good luck with it, anyhow. Smile
_________________
British Newspapers Online - All about the UK's national, regional and local press
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frederico Rogeiro
Secretary
Secretary


Joined: 22 Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Portugal
3 ants

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Dave.

At the time I posted this question here, the situation was this:
- the domain was in Godaddy, but in my old partner account;
- I thought it was hosted there too;
- I didn't know all about how this things work (I came to think they're very interesting).

Now I understand a little better and the problem is solved. My old partner had activated an authorization for me to transfer the domain to my account, but didn´t told me that, so I only managed to to it almost by chance.
Then I just had to change the nameservers, since I already had new ones.

Of course, I thank you very much for answering!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Eagle
President
President


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 644
Location: UK
659 ants

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your new host should assist you with the move. Smile
_________________
Logo DesignLogo Tidy-up
www.eagleimagery.co.uk/ Smile
UK Business Labs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    AardvarkBusiness.net Forum Index -> Domains & Hosting Forum All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Google
 
Business ForumSport ForumTravel Forum


Powered by php B B © 2001, 2002 php B B Group

AardvarkBusiness.net Business Search Engine & Directory